Skyline University Nigeria

Skyline University Nigeria Holds 2023 Coding Challenge for Pre-Varsity Schools

In its quest to train and develop Africa’s youth with skills to meet the requirement of the global village, Skyline University Nigeria has organized its 2023 Coding Geeks Challenge Competition for Pre-varsity schools in Kano. The competition required participants to undergo rigorous tech skills, and other exciting coding challenges with windows application development and hands-on experience. The competing schools, being represented by students who meet all the requirements outlined in the competitions were assessed based on creativity, originality, and, technical excellence

The competition was organized by the University’s Computer Science Department, led by Dr. Vijay Arputaraj to help develop and launch the next Africa’s digitally enabled youth. The University’s Director of Academic Support Service, Ms Sarada Maganti, declaring the Programmeme open, acknowledged the continuous support and encouragement of Private secondary schools to be part of the Coding Challenge 2023. According to her, “there is no better time to prepare for the future than now”.

The 2023 Coding Challenge was a laudable initiative, especially as it relates to its emphasis on the Information Technology (IT) sector, and support for youth development that could solve some of the problems in the African continent and the global world. The goal is to upscale African talents with digital and coding skills, as they prepare for a career in the university.

There was a robust panel discussion during the competition, that included the Dean SSIT Dr.Senthil Kumar A, Head of the Computer Department, Dr Vijay Arputharaj and Lecturer I Dr M. Ashok Kumar, coding event coordinators. Other panelists include Mr Aliyu Lawan, Mr Miracle Uwa, Mr. Abdullahi Sani, Ms. Hafsah Ahmed, Mr Bello Austin, Mr. Aliyu Sulieman, Mr.Ismail and Ms. Maimuna.

Four schools, LEBANESE CONSULATE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL led by AVIJITSAI PRADEEP NAIR emerged 1st place, INTERCONTINENTAL COLLEGE led by ZAINAB SARKI emerged 2nd, while YANDUTSE COLLEGE led by YUSUF KABIR and NIGERIAN TULIP INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL, led by HANIFA MOHAMMAD emerged third place respectively. All four schools received 50 book donations each, courtesy of the University’s Library.