Skyline University Nigeria

The Senate

The Senate

The Senate is the soul of the academia in the university, chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. It is a relatively large deliberative and participative body made up of professors and some non-academic staff. It is the ultimate authority for academic decision-making, normally acting on advice from the School Boards and its other Committees. Hence, the academic policy and procedures of the university are determined by this structure.

The Senate is responsible for all the academic affairs of the University, including the provision of courses and the approval of their syllabi, admissions and progress of students through examinations and other forms of assessments, the award of degrees and other qualifications as may be prescribed. Also, it is responsible for the making of recommendations to the Governing Council in respect of candidates for the award of honorary degrees, the establishment, organization and control of halls of residence in the University, and the granting of fellowships, scholarships, prizes and similar awards that are within the control of the University provided that funds are available.

Senate Committees

The Senate has the following Committees to facilitate its work:

  1. Curriculum Development Committee
  2. Library and Publications Committee
  3. Ceremonies & Honours Committee
  4. Central Admissions Committee
  5. Committee of Deans
  6. Students Welfare Committee
  7. University Sports Committee
  8. Students Disciplinary Committee
  9. Examinations Committee
  10. Research Grants Committee
  11. ICT Development Committee
  12. Senate Business Committee.

Senate Members in SUN

Senate Members DetailsSenate Members Names
The Vice-Chancellor - ChairmanProf. Ajith Kumar V.V.
Deputy Vice-Chancellor-
All Professors in the UniversityProf. Sanjoy Pal – Microbiology
Prof. Timothy Bata – Geology
Prof. Susanta Pahari – Biochemistry
The Librarian of the UniversityDr. Abdullahi Bala Shehu - Head Librarian
The Deans of SchoolsDr. Sudha Mavuri - Dean SAMSS
Dr. A. Senthil Kumar - Dean SSIT
Prof. Omipidan Bashir - Dean SLS
Dr. Isa Usman Lawan - Dean SBMS
Representative for Dean of Student AffairsHead SSD
Directors of Academic Institutes / CentresDr. Bashir Garba - DAP
Mr. Abubakar Sadiq Ismail - DOMC
Mrs. Sarada Maganti – DASS
All Heads of Academic DepartmentsDr. Susanta Pahari - HOD - Department of Chemical Science
Dr. Sanjoy Kumar Pal - HOD - Department of Biological Sciences
Dr. Ajayi Olumide Abraham - HOD - General Studies
Dr. Alhassan Adamu - HOD - Computer Science
Dr. Senthil Kumar - HOD - Department of Management
Mr. Farid Illiyasu Illo - HOD - Department of Political Science
Dr. S. Sundararajan - HOD - Economics and Entrepreneurship
Dr. Saminu Umar - HOD – Mass Communication
BursarMr. Haroon Rasheed
RegistrarMr. Ahmed Mohammed Abdullahi